Something wrong with ‘Kong’

kong.jpg

Watched, and immediately fell in love with, The King of Kong: A Fistful of Quarters,” a documentary into the seedy world of video game record holding — specifically for Donkey Kong (a childhood fave).

I thought it was a completely engrossing doc, clearly established and colorful characters (Billy Mitchell, no one quite rocks the mullet like you, my friend).

The trouble is this story here.

Now, I am aware that when I watch documentaries, there are always aspects of stories that I am not privy to. But after reading this article, I am conflicted. Do I still enjoy this film, now knowing what I know? It was certainly a well-made film, drew its lines in the sand well. And I am a big fan of seperating the art from the artist(still love your work, Polanski!), but this is a little more than that.

~ by usesoapfilm on February 6, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
